European Affairs

Innovation platform for better smart cities’ services

31 Mar , 2015  

This is a initiative of European Commission through Digital Agenda for Europe. At CEBIT 2015, 25 cities from Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Italy, Portugal and Spain and 6 cities from Brasil presented Open & Agile Smart Cities Task Force (OASC), an initiative that help city councils and startups to improve smart city services, allowing cities to share their open data so that startups can develop apps and tools that benefit all citizens (these systems will be shared between cities).

FIWARE, an EU-funded, open source platform and cloud-based building blocks developed in the EU that can be used to develop a huge range of applications, will achieve all the information and will also give startups and app developers in these cities access to a global market for smart city services. Since now many applications have already been built using FIWARE – from warnings of earthquakes to preventing food waste to Smartaxi apps.

EU signing cities are: Brussels Capital Region, Ghent, Antwerp (BE), Copenhagen, Aarhus, Aalborg (DK), Helsinki, Tampere, Espoo, Vantaa, Oulu, Turku (FI), Milan, Palermo, Lecce (IT), Lisbon, Porto, Penala, Fundão, Palmela, Águeda (PT), Valencia, Santander, Málaga, Sevilla (ES).

From Brazil: Olinda (Recife), Anapólis (Goiás), Porto Alegre (Rio Grande do Sul), Vitória (Espírito Santo), Colinas de Tocantins (Tocantins) and Taquaritinga (São Paulo).

For more infos zou can access European Commission webpage.

, , , ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *